Search   Book an Appointment

Skilled Independent Migration (Based on Points)

Before guiding to a step on lodging a visa, walk with us while we take you to the pragmatical process of how points are achieved for skilled migration from here.

  1. Study:

To all newcomers who are intending for permanent residency in Australia, you have two options; either apply through the experience and knowledge you gain onshore or do it through offshore experience. Please check your occupation on Occupation Ceiling’s detail by clicking here. The link might change now and then. Contact us if you find the link broken.

By studying you could claim up to 50 points. Suppose if you are applying for Visa Subclass-189 category, below number of points you will achieve from each activity.

  • Study in Australia for minimum of 2 years                                                                      5 points
  • Study on various levels
    • Diploma of Trade Qualification course                                                               10 points
    • Study Bachelor or Master (excluding research of few occupation)                         15 points
    • Study PhD. (Doctorate)                                                                                      20 points
  • Specialist Education Qualification                                                                                  10 points
  • Study in Regional Australia                                                                                            5 points

2. Experience

Experience is another important aspect in migration process. Please note points for experience is only counted if your job is related with your study occupation and that comes with minimum set of duties and responsibilities you should carry out whilst at your job. Amount of experience earned within Australia has difference from experience earned outside Australia. See table below to get more clarification on experience.

Onshore Offshore
Years of ExperiencePoints Years of Experience
1-3 years5 3-5 years
3-5 years10 5-8 years
5-8 years15 8+ years
8+ years20 NA

3. Age

Count your points through the age calculator. Different aged groups are granted different amount of points. See below table to check where you stand.

Age GroupPoints allocated
Between 18 to 25 years25
Between 25 to 33 years30
Between 33 to 40 years25
Between 40 to 45 years40

4. Professional Year

This is a program designed for International graduates from Australian education provider to give them a real-life Australian work experience. In general, this is almost 1-year program that involve lectures or class work and work placement (internship) at the end. To be eligible for the award of these points your Professional Year must have your qualification completed in Accounting, ICT/Computing or Engineering, and in your nominated occupation or a closely related occupation. You need to find relevant authority to assess this program which is different for each occupation. This accreditation is valid for four years only and gives you 5 points towards Skilled Migration. This can only be done when you are on visa with full-time working rights. Also, most of the providers look for at least 1 year period in such kind of visa before you start or enrol on the course.

5. English Language Ability

Points for English Language ability can be achieved by giving an English test from test providers such as IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, OET and Cambridge Advanced Test. This accreditation is valid for 3 years from the date of test given.

Below chart shows the result equivalent with IELTS and points you could achieve from those scores.

Scores (in each component)Points
Between 6 and 70
Between 7 and 810
Between 8 and 920

6. Accreditation in a Community Language

This is also referred as NAATI or CCL these days. If you have an ability to speak second language other than English, you can sit for a test to prove an interpreter skill of your second language into English language. This gives you additional 5 points towards skilled migration. This is pretty much available for all major languages. This accreditation is also valid for four years.

7. Partner Skill

This provides up to additional 10 points upon meeting all the requirements from your spouse or de-facto partner. The requirements are set on their English Language Ability, Age and Skills they have. S/he must not be an Australian permanent resident or an Australian citizen.  Additionally, you will need to provide evidence that when you were invited to apply for this visa that they were under 45 years old.

S/he had only ability of Competent English5
If you are Single or if your partner is an Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident10
S/he had competent English, had nominated a skilled occupation that is on the same skilled occupation list as your nominated skilled occupation, and had a suitable skills assessment from the relevant assessing authority for their nominated skilled occupation  10